As Britney Spears Once Said, “Gimme More.”

Media is all around us and we couldn’t love it more.  As a young adult, I was raised with media all around me.  My family had the money to have TV and internet, so I was exposed to using media at a young age.  Even today, when I look at my log of media intake, I realize how much media I voluntarily expose myself to.  The scary part is that I know I am only one of billions who are exposed to the same amount, if not more, media. 

It’s weird thinking about my media intake because I have never thought about it before.  I sign on to my laptop and immediately check my facebook, then go through a variety of celebrity gossip sites and end my rounds with a couple YouTube videos.  There it is; my online media exposure in a nutshell.  As a successful college student one might think that I would sign on and get started on researching for my classes, but that’s just not in the cards my friends. 

Besides being an addict of the internet, I am addicted to listening to music.  I not only sleep with my radio on while I sleep (this includes naps), but I also have a shower radio.  Yes, I admit that I rock out in the shower.  So, not only does the media influence me as I fall asleep, but I am forced to listen to those pesky advertisements in between my jam sessions. 

I thought it best to wrap up my media exposure with my most deadly weapon, my blackberry.  My blackberry is sadly like my child.  I take it everywhere: to class, to the gym, it’s even next to me as I sleep.  The worst part of all is that I named my blackberry.  Her name is Halle, Halle Berry… get it…? Anyways, I’m constantly talking to my mom or bbming (BlackBerry Messenger) my friends.  It’s addictive because I feel the need to be up to date on pretty much everything; my friends, my classes, family, etc. 

I definitly spend most of my day on the internet, listening to my music and using my blackberry.  I noticed that I spend about 19 hours of the day on my blackberry.  It’s basically all three of my addictions wrapped into one.  I can listen to the radio on it, search the web and stay in contact with my friends/family.  I check my blackberry without even thinking and I never leave a room without it.  Honestly, I could probably operate my phone without even looking, I know it so well. 

I see the gap of media in my generation compared to older generations.  My mom has a phone and still texts with one finger.  She also won’t write out a word because it saves her time.  For example, she always spells you with one letter: U. Even though it is forever annoying, I have given up on trying to teach her more because she likes things simple.  She always says to me, “stop texting and listen to me!”  The funny thing is that I see my friend’s parents saying the same things to my friends.  It is second nature for my generation to check their facebook a couple times in an hour alone.  Students walk around campus with their face in their cell phone or iPod.  People are so focused on texting they are walking into lamp posts and falling into fountains! 

I noticed that I rely a lot on media.  I rely mostly on it for the entertainment value.  Reality TV has got the best of me and I don’t think I’ll ever be the same.  It’s ok with me though, I embrace it.  There’s no other way to look at it.  Once I start getting carpal tunnel from texting, I’ll seek help for my addictions. 

About jenniferose04

I am a sophomore at Towson University. I live with 7 other roommates on campus and spend most of my time with them. I have lived near Annapolis since I was 4, I was born in Virginia. I love the Washington Redskins and football in general.
This entry was posted in MCOM101. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment