Out With the Old, in With the New.

Picture this, maneuvering throughout your day without checking your blackberry or your Facebook page. Can’t do it?  Neither can I.  I have to say that I rely more and more on my blackberry to keep me up to date on my school work and my personal life.  If I had to estimate, I would say that i check my blackberry at least 20 times within one hour.  One single hour I spend so much time devoted to making use I’m on top of my game.  I hate being unprepared for just about anything and my blackberry is a key tool that helps me prevent that. 

Technology has come a long way since the telegram.  I can’t imagine relying on communicating with my friends through writing letters.  E-mail and text messaging are the same tools as pen and paper, but in today’s society we are all about speed.  Why write a letter when you can send an e-mail in seconds.  Time seems to be a key factor in the new developing technologies.  Everyone wants to have the world at their fingertips immediately and it is being made possible through new developing technologies.  For example, the web 3.0 is supposed to provide faster, more advanced web access. 

I wanted to research others who tried to live a day avoiding technology.  Here’s what I found:

A video by Ford:

The advances in technology will continue as time goes on.  I am getting to the point where it is even too much for me, a 19-year-old who is exposed to media everyday.  Between touch screen phones and 3D movies in your own home, I feel like we can never go back to the basics. 

I remember watching a documentary on women operators in the 1900’s and how that was a major first job opportunity for women.  The women operators would take the incoming call and then plug the caller into the phone line of who they wanted to speak to.  I can’t even imagine the extra time and expense involved in communicating through an operator.  I can’t recall the last time I talked to an operator, in today’s society there are mainly voice recordings. 

For a day, the whole world should give up using the internet and their cell phones.  This would open many eyes into how people back in the day had to communicate.  So when the internet crashes or the cell towers fail, the world will not panic.  We will be well equipped to continue on with our daily activities, all the while still communicating through “old fashion” ways.  I would really like to further explore the concept of going back to the basics in regards to communicating.  I feel that a movie about the modern-day world with only minimal technologies used could be a great eye opener for today’s generation.    

I guess we will never know if today’s society could live without our current technology.  It would be like taking candy from a baby.

About jenniferose04

I am a sophomore at Towson University. I live with 7 other roommates on campus and spend most of my time with them. I have lived near Annapolis since I was 4, I was born in Virginia. I love the Washington Redskins and football in general.
This entry was posted in MCOM101. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out With the Old, in With the New.

  1. Hanna says:

    Hahah… taking a candy from a baby ^o^… yeah… We are so dependent on the internet…

Leave a Reply

