Forever Young. Forever Disney.

I can remember watching all of Disney’s classic princess movies over and over as a child.  Cinderella is my favorite movie that still holds a spot in my heart.  I think that many young girls grow up loving Disney’s princess movies because they can identify with one of them physically.  Mulan is Chinese, Pocahontas is Native-American, Jasmine is Arab and Tiana is African-American.  This allows all young girls to identify with each princess.  I sure my love for Cinderella has some correlation to the fact that we look similar, even though I don’t run around in a light blue ball gown.  Disney’s movies, specifically the fairytales, have characteristics that are seen across the board.  Whether a young girl is following her dreams or seeking her prince charming, some element of faith is present.

In Cinderella Disney wants us to believe that dreams do come true.  In Sleeping Beauty Disney wants us to believe that love and conquer all.  Even in the recent The Frog Prince, Disney wants us to believe that love can come in all forms.  As you can see, in all of Disney’s fairytale princess movies, Disney is demanding that you let go of rules and boundaries and believe.  I believe this is the key element to why Disney has such a strong audience.  People want to sit down and get lost in an imaginary world. We want to escape our everyday lives, even if it is just for an hour or two.  
Disney transcends this imagination into many other elements.  Not only can you get lost in the film, but you can get lost in the theme parks, stores, cruise and more!  Disney gives you just about every option to immerse yourself into their world.  Did you love Tangled? Would you like your whole room covered in Rapunzel’s world?  Just go to your local Disney store, and they will hook you up with the works!  

The Disney theme parks are my favorite.  I will admit that I have been to Disney World 5 times and with each trip I fell in love more.  Disney not only brings out your wallets, but it brings out the kid in you.  If you think about it, Disney has its own culture.  Especially at Disney World people act a certain way, dress a certain way and there is a certain language that is spoken.  A spirit is present in the air that makes everyone, well most everyone, extremely happy.  

I have to say that I am a big kid at heart; I’d say around seven.  I have pictures and posters of Disney in my room today, and I’m not ashamed of it.  One would probably think that nine year-old lives in my room but that’s ok with me.  I know I’m not the only one who is over 12 with some element of Disney in their room.  This is a prime example of why Disney is loved so much.  They encourage you to explore all possibilities and dreams, while also spending your hard earned cash.

About jenniferose04

I am a sophomore at Towson University. I live with 7 other roommates on campus and spend most of my time with them. I have lived near Annapolis since I was 4, I was born in Virginia. I love the Washington Redskins and football in general.
This entry was posted in MCOM101. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

